Home Sell Products Advertise Covid Profiles Feedback Register

Buy Airtime

Pindula Buy & Sell

Home » Uncategorized

MDC Alliance Probes Mass Gweru Defections

7 September 2021

The MDC Alliance led by Nelson Chamisa says it is investigating the recent defection of 11 of its Gweru councillors to the rival MDC-T.

Reports suggest that at least 11 Gweru Urban and four Vungu Rural District MDC-Alliance Councillors had defected to the Douglas Mwonzora-led outfit.

Featured Products

Advertise your products on Pindula for free

MDC Alliance Midlands Provincial spokesperson Takavafira Zhou told NewZimbabwe.com that they were not worried if some councillors decide to join another party. Said Zhou:

The issue is certainly under investigation by the party. What I can confirm is that some councillors inquired on what they should do that they were invited for a meeting by Mwonzora’s cabal and we advised them that an MDCA councillor who attends another political party’s meeting would have voluntarily expelled herself/ himself.

We are as a party not short of personnel and if some councillors decide to join another political party we are not worried at all because we are aware that such parochialism and narrow-mindedness will not take them far enough.

Our grassroots support continues to grow by leaps and bounds and will be a major decisive factor in the next elections.

The councillors who left the MDC Alliance last week attended a meeting held at Town House chaired by MDC-T secretary for local government, Faith Musarurwa Kamutsungira.

Councillors who dumped MDC Alliance at Gweru City Council are Notal Dzika (ward 8), Charles Chikozho (ward 10), Trust Chinese (ward 15), Catherine Mhondiwa (ward 13), Tawanda Magidi (ward 16), Doubt Ncube (ward 3), Farai Muza (ward 17), Godfrey Giwa (ward 6), Gideon Mugariri (ward 7), John Manyundwa (ward 18) and Edson Kurebgaseka (ward 9).

The four Vungu councillors who have jumped ship are Benjamin Mpala (ward 7), Spiwe Moyo (ward 8), Nyika Parirenyatwa (ward 16) and Restart Muswere (ward 10) and were part of the MDC-T indaba.

More: NewZimbabwe.com